Volunteer of the Year (Arnprior Minor Hockey Association)

PrintVolunteer of the Year
Bruce Armsden Volunteer of the Year Award

The Bruce Armsden Volunteer of the Year award is in honour of someone who gave countless hours of his time back to this community over several decades. Bruce began volunteering as Trainer and Equipment Manager for the Junior B Packers in 1957 and he continued to work with the club in various capacities, until his passing in 2016. While his principal role was that of Trainer/Equipment Manager, he was also on the Executive Committee, sold Nevada tickets which raise money for minor hockey, as well as less glamorous jobs like doing the laundry. Not many know this but Bruce was also undefeated as a coach, sporting a stellar 2-0 record.
While Bruce was best known for his time with the Packers, he was also a long-time volunteer with The St. John’s Ambulance and when fall arrived, Archie [Glenn Arthur, former Arnprior Recreation Director] will say that he always had a visit from Bruce to ask, “what do you need me for this year?”. Bruce volunteered for several Bantam and Midget boys provincial hockey tournaments, a women’s provincial tournament, an international broomball tournament and countless other events at The Nick Smith Centre.
This award goes to someone who selflessly gives their time to the Arnprior Minor Hockey Association, in the same manner in which Bruce gave his time during his life. They may not get the recognition, they may not be in limelight, you may not even know all that they do, but without them minor hockey could not survive.
2017/2018 - Daryl Cybulski
2018/2019 - Harvey Ogilvy 
2019/2020 - Cathy Greenough
2020/2021 - Dan Perfitt
2021/2022 - Brett Simmons
2023/2024 - Scott Jeror

We congratulate and thank the winners.
AMHA Executive